Artyom Agazhanov

(b. 1958, Moscow).

Russian composer of mostly stage, orchestral, chamber, choral, vocal, and piano works that have been performed in Europe and elsewhere; he is also active as a pianist.

Mr. Agazhanov studied composition with Sergey Balasanian and piano with Elena Richter at the Central Music School in Moscow from 1965–76 and composition with Sergey Balasanian and piano with Vera Gornostayeva at the P. I. Tchaikovsky State Conservatory in Moscow from 1976–81. There he also had postgraduate studies in composition with Nikolai Sidelnikov from 1981–84.

His music has been performed in Austria, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, and Russia.

As a pianist, he has played both contemporary music and traditional répertoire throughout Europe.

He has taught music theory at the Central Music School in Moscow since 1982.


E-mail address:



Legend of Vengeance (ballet–oratorio in 2 acts, text by the composer, after Nikolai Gogol), tenor, mixed chorus, orchestra, 1986 (a concert suite for 2 pianos was arranged)

Romeo and Juliet (incidental music, play by William Shakespeare), small orchestra (25 players), 1995

Le Baruffe chiozzotte (incidental music, play by Carlo Goldoni), female voice, flute, oboe, clarinet, trumpet, accordion, synthesizer, 1997


Symphony, large orchestra (81 players), 1981

On Beauty, Sorrow, Laughter, and Grieving (cantata no. 2, texts by Issa Kobayashi, Matsuo Bashō, Ihara Saikaku), high soprano, large orchestra (61/62 players), 1983 (also version for high soprano, orchestra, 1983)

Pax in terra, large orchestra (82 players), 1983

Gloria (cantata no. 3, text from the word "gloria"), soprano, mezzo-soprano, tenor, baritone, mixed chorus, large orchestra (89 players), fixed media ad libitum, 1984

Aufschwung (overture), large orchestra (82 players), 1987

The Way of the Poet (cantata no. 4, text by Mikhail Lermontov), tenor, mixed chorus, large orchestra (81 players), 1989

Confessing Sinner (cantata no. 5, text by Leo Tolstoy), mezzo-soprano, tenor, tenor/baritone, baritone, bass, large orchestra (82 players), fixed media ad libitum, 2000


String Quartet, 1982

Sonata for Two Soloists, cello, piano, 1985 (also version for viola, piano, 1986)

Vision, violin, piano, 1987


The Tragedy of Leningrad (cantata no. 1, text by Anna Akhmatova), mezzo-soprano, mixed chorus, 1979, revised 1986

Canons of Mourning (vocalise), mixed chorus, 1982


Six Japanese Haiku (texts by Kobayashi Issa, Ihara Saikaku), high soprano, piano, 1983

Without a Trace (text by Marina Petrovych), mezzo-soprano/alto, piano, 1998


Five Studies for Two Pianos, 2 pianos, 1980

From Three to Six, 1984

Variations on a Theme of Chopin, 1991

Near Bach, 1996

Legend of Vengeance, 2 pianos, 1996 (concert suite from ballet–oratorio)

Time to Cry, 1999


Kolobrod, 1989 (Sergey Lomkin)

Get the City to Rebel, Count, 1992 (Sergey Guryanov)

Farewell in June, 2003 (Sergey Lomkin)