Nejat Başeğmezler

(b. 17 May 1950, Eskişehir).

Turkish composer of mostly orchestral and chamber works that have been performed in Europe; he is also active as a violist.

Mr. Başeğmezler studied viola with Betil Ersan and violin with Necdet R. Atak at the Hacettepe Üniversitesi Ankara Devlet Konservatuvarı – State Conservatory of Hacettepe University in Ankara from 1962–72 and graduated as a violist. There he also studied counterpoint and harmony with Erçivan Saydam from 1966–69 and composition, counterpoint and harmony with Necil Kazım Akses from 1975–77.

Among his honours are two prizes in the competition Nejat Eczacıbaşı (Second Prize, 1996, for EDCBA; Second Prize, 1998, for Concertino) and First Prize in the competition of the Turkish Radio and Television Corporation (1998, for March for the 75th Anniversary of the Turkish Republic).

As a violist, he has been a member of the Cumhurbaşkanlığı Senfoni Orkestrası – Presidential Symphony Orchestra in Ankara since 1971.

He has taught music theory on a part-time basis at the Hacettepe Üniversitesi Ankara Devlet Konservatuvarı since 1971.

In addition to the works listed below, Mr. Başeğmezler has composed didactic music.


E-mail address:



G (ballet music, choreography by Aydın Teker), synthesizer, 1992

Kambur Üstüne KamburHunch of the Hunchback (opera in 1 act, libretto by Murat Göksu), 1994


Overture, 1981

Symphony, 1983

İzlenimlerImpressions (symphonic poem), 1989

Three Pieces to Ankara (suite), 1993

Sinfonietta, guitar, piano, 2 string orchestras, 1994

A Piece for Peace, violin, orchestra, 1996 (also version for violin, piano)

EDCBA, 1996

Suite, string orchestra, 1997

Concertino, harp, orchestra, 1998

Concerto, 3 guitars, orchestra, 1998

March for the 75th Anniversary of the Turkish Republic, symphonic band, 1998 (version of choral work; also version for orchestra, 1998)

Concerto, viola, orchestra, 2001


Armağan IGift, viola, piano, 1981

Armağan II, viola, piano, 1982

Für Ezgi, viola, 1993

Idée Fixe, 3 guitars, 1996

A Piece for Peace, violin, piano, 1996 (version of orchestral work)

Two Turkish Folk Tunes for Three Guitars, 2000

Élégie, viola, piano, 2000

Armağan III, viola, piano, 2000

b-n-n-a, string quartet, 2002


March for the 75th Anniversary of the Turkish Republic (text by İhsan Özkaynak), mixed chorus, piano, 1998 (also versions for symphonic band; orchestra)


Suite (3 movements). Rengim Gökmen/strings of the Düsseldorfer Symphoniker (Deutsche Welle Classics: A-511673, 1997)

Two Turkish Folk Tunes for Three Guitars. Bilkent Guitar Trio (Kalan Müzik, 2001)