Sidney Marquez Boquiren

(b. 1970, Manila).

Filipino composer, now resident in the USA, of mostly chamber, choral, vocal, and piano works that have been performed in Asia, Europe and North America.

Mr. Boquiren studied composition with Michael Schelle at Butler University in Indianapolis, where he graduated summa cum laude with his BMus in 1992, on a scholarship. He then studied composition with Stephen Jaffe and Scott Lindroth at Duke University in Durham, North Carolina and there earned his MA in 1994 and PhD in 1999, on the Mary Duke Biddle Fellowship.

Among his honours are the William Klenz Prize in Composition from Duke University (1994, for Pater Noster), First Prize in the competition for music for harpsichord Aliénor in Atlanta (1994, for Sala'am) and a high commendation in the competition of the New London Chamber Choir (2000, for Iyeyan [original version]). He has also received an honourable mention in the competition of the Internationale Gaudeamus Muziekweek in Amsterdam (2000, for Pag-aalay at Panalanging Eukaristiko: Ikatlong Meditasyon from Misa) and the Mellon Postdoctoral Fellowship (2003–04), which enabled a stay at the Penn Humanities Forum of the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia. He later served a residency at the MacDowell Colony in Peterborough, New Hampshire (2007–08). His music has been performed in Belgium, France, Greece, Italy, Japan, the Netherlands, the Philippines, and the USA, including once at the Asian Music Festival in Manila (1997) and twice at the Internationale Gaudeamus Muziekweek (2000–01).

Mr. Boquiren is also active in other positions. He sang as a bass-baritone in the Duke University Chorale and Chamber Choir from 1992–2001 and with the Vocal Arts Ensemble from 1996–2003. He served as conductor of the chorus Summa, originally known as the Boquiren Chamber Singers, from 1997–2003. He served as composer-in-residence at the Durham School of the Arts in 1998. He has performed in various capacities with the ensemble for contemporary music Pulsoptional since 1999.

He taught musicianship and music theory at Duke University from 1995–99. He taught Christian worship and music, composition and experimental music at the Penn Humanities Forum of the University of Pennsylvania in 2003–04. He has taught analysis, composition, ear training, form, harmony, and music theory as Assistant Professor at Adelphi University in Garden City, New York since 2004.

He has lived in the USA since 1990.


E-mail address:



The Civilized Captivity of a Primitive Existence, voice (+ piano), dancer, 2008 (incorporates O-we yówa [original version]; Winter)

Requiem, a man alone (in a room), amplified voice, flutes, trombone, violin, double bass, live electronics, 2008–

ORCHESTRAL: benedictus..., string orchestra, 2002


S. L. M., viola, 1992

5 Sketches, cello, 1992

AD TE, string quartet, 1993

Isa't-Isang MagkakasamaOne by One, All Together, flute, oboe, bass clarinet, violin, viola, cello, piano, percussion, 1995

MagkasamaAll Together, string quartet, 1999

PagsambaWorship, string quartet, 2001 (its five sections may be performed separately: TawagCall; Unang MeditasyonFirst Meditation; Papuri at PasasalamatPraise and Thanksgiving; Ikalawang MeditasyonSecond Meditation; PagbabasbasBenediction)

PanalangingPrayer, violin, 2002 (may be performed simultaneously with PananampalatayaFaith; also version with live electronics, 2004)

on the ineffable nature of the divine being, flute (+ alto flute), oboe (+ English horn), clarinet (+ bass clarinet), percussion, 2003

Tres Marias, viola, cello, piano, 2003

on sundered souls, 5 double basses, 2004

Jubilus I, amplified flute (+ amplified bass flute), amplified oboe, live electronics, 2005

Missa cum Jubilo, flute, guitar, cello, piano, percussion, 2005

The Walls of Jericho, flutes, piano, 2006

Requiem in Memoriam, flute, trumpet, violin, piano, percussion, 2006

4 Laments and a Dirge, flute, oboe, viola, piano, percussion, 2007

angel music, khene (mouth organ from Laos), 2007

Doves, oboe, bassoon, electric guitars, violin, piano, marimba, singing bowls, 2008

The Decent Existence, cello, harpsichord, 2009

Requiem: Alone, flutes, live electronics, 2009


Pater Noster, mixed chorus, 1994

SalamatThanks, 4 baritones, 1995

Iyeyan, mixed chorus, 1996 (also version for countertenor, tenor, 3 basses, 2002)

Misa, mixed chorus, 2 guitars, piano, 2 percussion, 2 violins, viola, cello, double bass, 1999

An Irish Benediction, mixed chorus, 2000

Three Philippine Folksongs, female chorus, 2000

Gloria, countertenor, tenor, 3 basses, 2001

Sanctus, countertenor, 2 tenors, bass, 2001

Dolor, Lamentatio et Spes, mixed chorus, 2001

Seven Folksongs, 2 tenors, baritone, 2 basses, 2004

first love story, 8 mixed voices, 2005

Speak to Me, 8 mixed voices, speaking chorus, 2006

Three Laments, 2006–09 (its three sections may be performed separately: I Shall Not, 9 mixed voices, 2006; Out of the Ashes, 8 mixed voices, 2008; O-we yówa, 8 mixed voices, 2009 [version of vocal work])


Three Poems by Tristan Tzara, dramatic soprano, piano, 1992

Canticle: AMDG (texts from various psalms), tenor, bass, flute (+ alto flute), bassoon, guitar, viola, 1993

Gloria, tenor, baritone, bass, flute (+ alto flute), viola, cello, 1994

Maawa Ka/Miserere Mei, boy soprano, baritone, piano, 1997

PagdaramayMourning (texts from a prayer for the dead from the Philippines, various psalms), amplified female voice, harpsichord, fixed media, live electronics, 2002

Stabat Mater, amplified female voice, fixed media, 2003 pinagpala and mga mapagpayapa... – ...and blessed are the peacemakers... (texts from greetings of peace, St. Francis of Assisi), voice, bassoon, piano, percussion, 2004

O-we yówa, voice, piano, 2008 (also incorporated into The Civilized Captivity of a Primitive Existence; also version for 8 mixed voices as section of Three Laments)

Last Seen, tenor, guitar, 2009


Prelude and Cha-cha, 1993

Three Preludes, 1995

Birthday Piece, 2 pianos, 1995

TunuganSoundings, prepared piano (4 players), 2000

Pananampalataya, 2002 (may be performed simultaneously with Panalanging)

Misang Walang SalitaMass without Words, amplified prepared piano (2 players), live electronics, 2004

Matins, 1 or more pianos, 2006

The Book of Hours, prepared piano (6 or more players), 2007

Winter, 2008 (also incorporated into The Civilized Captivity of a Primitive Existence)


Sala'am, 1993