Alp Durmaz

(b. 1974, İstanbul).

Turkish composer of mostly orchestral and chamber works that have been performed in Europe.

Mr. Durmaz studied form, harmony and piano privately with Cenan Akın in İstanbul in 1992–93 and studied composition and orchestration with Mete Sakpınar at the Mimar Sinan Güzel Sanatlar Üniversitesi Devlet Konservatuvarı – State Conservatory of the Mimar Sinan Fine Arts University in İstanbul in 1993–94. He studied composition and counterpoint with Bujor Hoinic at Bilkent Üniversitesi in Ankara from 1995–99 and composition with Elhan Bakihanov there in 1999–2000, on a scholarship. He later studied techniques of modern music privately with Ahmet Yürür in İstanbul in 2000–01 and techniques of modern music privately with Aydın Esen in Göktürk, Eyüp, İstanbul from 2009–11.

Among his honours are two prizes in the International Music Prize for Excellence in Composition in Colorado and Greece (winner, 2010, for Les Jardins du PrintempsPrelude for Piano; finalist, 2010, for Élégie [2010]) and a prize from the municipality of İstanbul (2010, for a concert that he had organised, with his music and works by other composers). His music has been performed in Greece and Turkey.

He has taught piano at the arts centre Hayart in Göktürk, Eyüp, İstanbul since 2003.

In addition to the works listed below, Mr. Durmaz has made arrangements and has written music for stage productions.

His primary publisher is Muzikoktek.


E-mail address:



Çarşamba CadısıThe Wednesday Witch (ballet music, scenario by the composer, after a myth from Turkey), orchestra, 2011–


Music for Piano and Orchestra, 2002

Dance of Dervishes, 2009

DesperationA Sketch for Orchestra, 2009

Élégie, oboe, 30 strings, 2009

The Children and the Storyteller, 2009–10

Light SpeedA Sketch for Orchestra, 2010


AğıtThrenody, guitar, 2009

Capriccio for Violin, 2009

A Turkish Folk Theme, violin, piano, 2009

Romance, violin, piano, 2009

Anatolian Rhapsody, string quartet, 2010

Élégie, cello, piano, 2010


Bagatella, 2009

Les Jardins du PrintempsPrelude for Piano, 2010