Lars Ekström

(b. 23 March 1956, Kalmar – d. 28 May 2015, Stockholm).

Swedish composer of mostly orchestral and chamber works that have been performed in Europe.

Mr. Ekström began studying music theory and piano in Copenhagen in 1975. He later composition with Daniel Börtz, Pär Lindgren and Sven-David Sandström at the Kungliga Musikhögskolan – Royal College of Music in Stockholm. He also had lessons with Franco Donatoni at both the Accademia Musicale Chigiana in Siena and the Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rome.

Among his honours was the lesser prize in the Christ Johnson-prisen from the Kungliga Musikaliska Akademien – Royal Swedish Academy of Music in Stockholm (1996, for Genom skärvan av en prisma).

He taught composition and instrumentation at the Kungliga Musikhögskolan from 1992–2015 and served as rector of the Edsbergs Musikinstitut in Sollentuna from 1998–2015.

His publisher is STIM.





Palatset (incidental music), 1989

Artaud: bokstavsguden (opera in 2 acts, libretto by the composer, after Antonin Artaud), 1991–92

Pulcinella (incidental music), 1992


L'Ombra come buio (concerto), flute, small orchestra, 1982, revised 1992

Fragile Chain (concerto), oboe, small orchestra, 1983

FluxAska, small orchestra, 1985

Pravda Love, percussion, string orchestra, 1986

Do it! (concerto), trombone, orchestra, 1987

Järnnatten, small orchestra, 1987

Bogilja..., string orchestra, 1989

Un Fond sombre, string orchestra, 1992

Genom skärvan av en prisma (after paintings by August Strindberg), small orchestra, 1994 (a suite was arranged, 1999)

Världen genom världar, 1995

Word, Crystal Circles and the World, string orchestra, 1996

Fantasy over a Bounded String, cello, orchestra, 1997

Rondo – The Dream Age, piano, orchestra, 1998

Fem bilder från Hallsta pappersbruk, flute, cello, piano, string orchestra, 2000

Konsert, violin, orchestra, 2002


Narrens spel, glockenspiel, 1986

Year of Stone, marimba, 1987

Den accelererande isbiten, oboe, 1988

Den enda världen, cello, 1988

Chicanens clou..., guitar, 1989

L'Uccello esca (String Quartet No. 2), 1989

There are people who..., flute, 1989

The Wall, clarinet, 1989

Vargtimmen, clarinet, saxophone, violin, piano, 1990

Fjättrad, 6 percussion, 1991

Cry My Dreams, alto saxophone, piano, 1993

Beat My Ora Dora, flute, violin, cello, piano, 1994

Spröda schakt, percussion, 1995

Den fallande klockan, cello, 1996

Fragile Fragments, oboe, piano, 1996

Garden of Ice, flute, clarinet, violin, viola, cello, piano, percussion, 1996

Mandala, vibraphone, 1996

Vision and Ashes, theorbo, 1996

Gimel, 2 cellos, 1997

The Wind and the Bell, tuba, piano, 1997

Cristalli temporanei, transverse flute, theorbo, viola da gamba, 1999

Dawn, soprano saxophone, 1999

Ripassare, trombone, piano, 2000


Den sovande i dalen, 18 mixed voices, 1984

Ocean of Time, soprano, countertenor, bass-baritone, mixed chorus, trombone, violin, orchestra, 2001


Un Coup de dés jamais n'abolira le hasard (text by Stéphane Mallarmé), bass-baritone, 2 orchestras, live electronics, 1985–86


Och jorden var som en spegel som långsamt frös till is, 1988

Chi tempo aspetta, 1999


Beat My Ora Dora. (CAP: 21587)

Järnnatten. (PSCD: 57)

Cry My Dreams. (PSCD: 81)

Garden of Ice; Rondo – The Dream Age; Spröda schakt; Genom skärvan av en prisma (suite). (PSCD: 122)

Fragile Chain; Den accelererande isbiten. (PSCD: 128)