Zaur Fakhradov

(b. 1965, Baku).

Azerbaijani composer, now resident in Russia, of mostly chamber and piano works that have been performed throughout Europe and elsewhere.

Mr. Fakhradov studied composition with Faraj Karayev at the Bakı Musiqi Akademiyası – Academy of Music in Baku from 1983–90, where he also studied analysis with Oleg Felzer and harmony with Boris Yermolayev. In addition, he attended masterclasses with Edison Denisov and Poul Ruders in Denmark in 1992.

Among his honours is an honourable mention in the competition UNO in Baku (1998, for Seasons). His music has been performed in Austria, Azerbaijan, Germany, Japan, Moldova, Mongolia, the Netherlands, Russia, Sweden, Switzerland, and the USA, including once at the Internationale Gaudeamus Muziekweek in Amsterdam (1991) and twice at the ISCM World Music Days (1994, Stockholm; 1999, Bucharest/Chișinău), as well as numerous times at the festival Moscow Autumn.

He is also active in other positions. He has served as music director of the A. N. Ostrovsky State Drama Theatre in Moscow since 2001.

He has lived in Russia since 1993 and became a citizen of Russia in 1995.


E-mail address:



Wellen, flute, piano, string quartet, 1989

Lost Voice, flute, clarinet (+ bass clarinet), violin, viola, cello, piano, 1992

Magum I, double bass, 1993

Cluster Concerto, flute, oboe (+ English horn), clarinet, bassoon, French horn, 2 violins, viola, cello, double bass, 1994

The Garden of Meeting Paths, flute (+ alto flute), oboe, bass clarinet, harp, guitar, mandolin, violin, viola, cello, double bass, piano, percussion, 1994

Magum II, flute/2 flutes, 1995

Chamber Concerto, clarinet, violin, marimba, 1996

Dialects I, oboe, clarinet (+ bass clarinet), violin, viola, cello, double bass, piano, 1996

Puppet (Magum III), clarinet, 1997

Seasons, bass clarinet, 1998

De profundis (in memoriam Edison Denisov), clarinet (+ bass clarinet), violin, cello, piano, 1998

Dialects II, bass clarinet, 1999

Collage, 6 cellos, 1999

Verse One, flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, French horn, violin, cello, double bass, percussion, 2000

Chronos (in memoriam Oleg Felzer), flute, clarinet, violin, piano, 2001

Stranger II, piano, accordion, 2002


GeribStranger (text by Fuzûlî), mixed chorus, 2000


Prelude, 1986

Nirvana, 1990 (also version for 2 pianos, 1991)

Closed Space (Variations on the Theme 'Robert Schumann'), piano (+ prepared piano, harpsichord), 1991

Stranger I, 2000


Aus A. M. B.'s NotenbüchleinKarriere vom Mr. Bach (Magum IV), 2000