Rahilia Hasanova

(b. 10 November 1951, Baku).

Azerbaijani composer of mostly orchestral and chamber works that have been performed throughout Europe and elsewhere.

Ms. Hasanova studied composition with Khayyam Mirzazade at the Asaf Zeynally Music School in Baku from 1968–72 and with Kara Karayev at the Bakı Musiqi Akademiyası – Academy of Music in Baku from 1972–77. She then had postgraduate studies in composition with Kara Karayev there in 1980 and graduated with honours.

Among her honours are a prize for best research paper (1975, 1984) and the Prize of the Government of Azerbaijan (2003). Her music has been performed in Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Russia, Switzerland, Ukraine, the UK, and the USA.

She is also active in other positions. She has been a member of the honour committee of the Fondazione Donne in Musica since 1999. She has written numerous articles on music for publications in Azerbaijan and Russia, as well as the book Solfeggio (2002, XXI Yeni Neshrler Evi).

She has taught dramaturgy, the history of music in Azerbaijan and Russia and the music of Africa and Asia at the Bakı Musiqi Akademiyası since 1997. She lectured on the music of Azerbaijan at seminars of the Fondazione Donne in Musica in Italy from 1998–2000 and at the Chard Festival in the UK in 2001.


E-mail address:




MaralDeer or Beautiful Girl (incidental music, play by Huseyn Javid), 2001

Javidi Destgakh (opera in 1 act, libretto by the composer), 2001


Symphony No. 1, small orchestra, 1977

Symphony No. 2, small orchestra, 1980

Symphony No. 3, small orchestra, 1983

Marsia, small orchestra, 1993

DağMountain, large orchestra, 1995

Night (suite), large orchestra, 1997

Lullaby for the Stars, small orchestra, 2003


String Quartet No. 1, 1974

Sextet, flute, piano, string quartet, 1988

Sonata, double bass, 1990

String Quartet No. 2, 1992

Se'maSky, flute, oboe, clarinet, harp, guitar, mandolin, violin, viola, cello, double bass, percussion, 1994

Sonata, clarinet, 1994

Sonata, guitar, 1995

String Quartet No. 3, 1995

Pirrebedil, flute, oboe, clarinet, harp, guitar, mandolin, violin, viola, cello, double bass, percussion, 1996

String Quartet No. 4, 1997

Trio, French horn, trumpet, trombone, 1999

MugfilMirage, 8 violas, 2002

ZerreMolecule, flute, clarinet, piano, 2003

NüveNucleus, violin, cello, piano, 2003


Dervish (vocalise), tenor, bass, string quartet, 1992


ÇeşmeFountain (12 chromatic preludes), 1984

Sonata, 1990

Alla meykhana (fantasy), 1996

Jasmine Petals (7 miniatures), 1997

DenizSea, alto saxophone ad libitum, tenor saxophone ad libitum, 2 pianos, 1998


GasidaChants of Lament (symphony), 1991

Largo, 1998

SakhraDesert, 1999