Malcolm Hawkins

(b. 1944, Porto).

British composer, born in Portugal and now resident in the USA, of mostly orchestral, chamber and choral works that have been performed in the Americas and Europe.

Mr. Hawkins studied at the Royal Academy of Music in London, where he graduated in 1966, and later studied composition with Cesar Bresgen at the Universität Mozarteum Salzburg.

Among his honours is First Prize in the competition Das Neue Lied in Salzburg (1960s).

He taught as a professor at the Royal Academy of Music from 1979–88.

His primary publishers are ECS Publishing, the Keturi Musikverlag and Stainer & Bell.


E-mail address:



A Day in Town, youth orchestra, 1974

On Stage, 1985 (version of work for 2 pianos)

Concerto for Oboe, Strings and Harpsichord, 1990

Vanity, 1993

Theme, Variations and Fugue, 'Rasmandala' (concerto), piano, orchestra, 1995

Three Maidens (concerto), French horn, orchestra, 2000


Diversions, oboe, violin, viola, cello, 1977

Dancing Partners, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, French horn, 1982

The Coffee House Meeting, 2 violins, 1986

Glimpses of a Garden, flute/alto recorder, any keyboard instrument, 1990

La Cicada, clarinet, cello, piano, 1992

Winnepocket Waltz, 3 violins (3rd + viola), cello, double bass, 2000

The Castle Ball (trio sonata), violin, cello, piano, 2004


This Endris Night (carol), mixed chorus, organ, 1975

Train Talk, Caramba Band, mixed chorus, piano, percussion ad libitum, 1985

The Riders, children's chorus, 1987

Santa Sophia (cantata), children's chorus, organ, 1991

Rosamundi (carol), mixed chorus, harp/any keyboard instrument, 1994

Four Carols, mixed chorus, harp/any keyboard instrument, 1999 (also version for female chorus, harp/any keyboard instrument, 2000)

Hillside and Seaside, children's chorus, piano, 2001

The Eastern River (mass), soprano, alto, tenor, bass, mixed chorus, organ, 2001


On Stage, 2 pianos, 1985 (also version for orchestra)

Ghost Games (Five Studies), 1990


Santa Sophia. (Claudio, 1991) (cassette)

La Cicada. (Round Top Festival Institute, 1993) (cassette)

Theme, Variations and Fugue, 'Rasmandala'. James Dick, piano; Pascal Verrot/Texas Festival Orchestra (Round Top Festival Institute, 1996)

Diversions. Simon Dent, oboe; members of the Heutling Quartett (Amati: ami 9801/1, 1998)

Four Carols (original version). Jennifer Lester/Philovox (ECS Publishing, 2000)

Four Carols (second version; excerpt). Christopher Tolley/Winchester College Quiristers (Claudio, 2001)

Rosamundi. Jonathan Rees-Williams/Choir of St. George's Chapel, Windsor Castle (Priory Records: PRC 671)