Paola Livorsi

(b. 1967, Alessandria).

Italian composer, now resident in Finland, of mostly chamber and vocal works that have been performed in Europe.

Ms. Livorsi studied music history with Giorgio Pestelli at the Università degli Studi in Turin in 1994 and there earned a diploma. She then studied composition with Riccardo Piacentini at the Conservatorio Giuseppe Verdi in Turin, where she graduated in 1996. She studied composition with Jean-Baptiste Barrière and electronic music with Kaija Saariaho in Helsinki in 1997, on a grant from CIMO, and studied with Kaija Saariaho in Paris from 1999–2001. She also studied computer music at CCMIX in Paris in 1999–2000 and IRCAM in Paris in 2000–01, on grants from De Sono in Turin.

Among her honours are Primo Premio in the national competition for vocal and instrumental music for children in Como (1994, for Il Gatto dal serraglio) and a scholarship from the organisation GAI (2000). Her music has been performed in Finland, France, Germany, and Italy.

She is also active in other positions. She has worked as a correspondent from abroad for the review Il Giornale della Musica since 1996.

She has lived in Finland since 2001.


E-mail address:



Ludus, 3 trombones, tuba, percussion, 2 violins, viola, cello, double bass, 1995

Pizzicato II, flute, guitar, string quartet, 1995

Manantial, flute (+ piccolo), bass clarinet, violin, cello, piano, 1997–98 peu de poids..., bass clarinet, 1999

Atem, alto flute (+ bass flute), 2001

, ring flute (+ alto flute, bass flute), piano, 2002

Verso, ring flute (+ alto flute), A-clarinet (+ clarinet), French horn, cimbalom, 2 violins, 2 violas, cello, double bass, 2 percussion, 2002–03

Suonno, string quartet, 2004

Napenda, piano, percussion, 2006


Spazi, 5 mixed voices, live electronics, 2000–05


Quartets (text by T. S. Eliot), soprano, piano, 1993

Il Gatto dal serraglio (text from an anonymous 19th-century text in English [Italian translation]), speaker, small orchestra, 1994

I Segni della persona felice (text by Giuseppe Amadio), soprano, flute, 1997

La Soleá (text by Federico García Lorca), soprano, 1998

Ohnfad (text by Saint-John Perse), female voice, fixed media, 2000

Os (text by Saint-John Perse), male voice, live electronics, 2001–02

Yapapi yapapi (text from a fairy tale of the Eskimo), female voice, percussion, fixed media, 2003


Pizzicato I, 1995