Paolo Longo

(b. 1967, Trieste).

Italian composer of chamber, choral, vocal, and piano works that have been performed in the Americas, Asia and Europe; he is also active as a conductor.

Mr. Longo studied composition with Stefano Procaccioli and piano with Massimo Gon at the Conservatorio Giuseppe Tartini in Trieste, where he graduated with highest honours in 1990. He also studied conducting with Gianfranco Masini in Reggio Emilia.

Among his honours are First Prize in the memorial competition Edvard Grieg in Oslo (2003, for Monologo Secondo, 'Sphynxs-Vari[A]zioni'), two awards in the Renée B. Fisher Composer Awards in New Haven, Connecticut (honourable mention, 2004, for Monologo Secondo, 'Sphynxs-Vari[A]zioni'; First Prize, 2005, for Jeux et Berceuses), First Prize in the competition Ivan Spasov in Plovdiv, Bulgaria (2004, for Histoires de cendre), First Prize in the competition for chamber music Tōkyō (2005, for Albertson-Variations), Primo Premio in the competition Onde Musicali in Taranto (2006, for Oblò 2, 'ricor[di]scordanze'), Premier Prix in the competition of the Académie Internationale de Lutèce in Paris (2006, for Albertson-Variations), Primo Premio in the competition Città di Barcellona in Messina (2008, for E già sono deserto – 'quasi un notturno'), and First Prize in the competition Musica Domani in Rochester, New York (2012, for Monologo Secondo, 'Sphynxs-Vari[A]zioni'). His music has been performed in Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, the Czech Republic, France, Germany, Israel, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, the UK, the USA, and Uzbekistan.

As a conductor, he has led ensembles and orchestras in Croatia, France, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Slovenia, and Uzbekistan. He co-founded with Stefano Procaccioli the Taukay Ensemble for contemporary music in Italy in 1996 and has served as its music director and principal conductor since 1996. He has also served as music director of the Teatro Lirico Giuseppe Verdi in Trieste since 2007.

He is also active in other positions. He served as artistic supervisor of the Teatro Raffaello Sanzio in Urbino in 1997–98.

His primary publisher is Symétrie, but Bèrben and La Mà de Guido are the publishers of some of his music.


E-mail address:


SELECT LIST OF WORKS (dates unavailable)


Le Songe d'un habitant du Mogol, 'Scènes modulaires sur des fables de Jean de La Fontaine' (text by Jean de La Fontaine), any 1 or more speakers, speaking children's chorus, clarinet (+ bass clarinet), soprano saxophone (+ baritone saxophone), viola, cello, harpsichord, percussion


Albertson-Variations, piccolo (+ alto flute), E-flat clarinet, bassoon, viola, cello

Corale, ricercare e ricordo dall'erba secca, clarinet, violin, viola, suspended cymbal (+ triangle, 2 bongos)

D'Autres Discordances, soprano saxophone (+ alto saxophone), piano

De fer de feu d'acier de sang, 8 percussion

Di canti soffocati, violin, cello, piano

Dialogues en discordance, trombone, piano

Dialogues en mode rouge, English horn, bass saxophone

Dialogues sur une boîte en ébène, cello, piano

E già sono deserto – 'quasi un notturno', viola, ensemble (alto flute, bassoon, double bass, piano, vibraphone)

Etchings I, clarinet, violin, viola, cello, glockenspiel (+ 2 woodblocks, suspended cymbal)

Etchings II, violin, piano

Etchings III, bass clarinet, cello

Etchings VI, flute (+ piccolo, any indigenous flute), oboe (+ slide whistle), piano

GêgêChoralis, piccolo, 2 French horns

Giants 'Quattro Incisioni', 4 saxophones

Haïkus épineux, flute (+ alto flute), violin, cello, piano

Histoires de cendre, 2 pianos, percussion

Lachrymæ, 'Laus et lamentatio', 2 soprano saxophones, 2 alto saxophones, 2 tenor saxophones, 2 baritone saxophones

Monologo Terzo, '...snips...', bass clarinet

Monologo Quarto, '...ébène...', marimba

Monologo Quinto, '...immortelle, mais petite...', oboe

Oblò 1, 'Greens', sopranino saxophone (+ soprano saxophone), alto saxophone (+ soprano saxophone), tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone (+ bass saxophone)

Oblò 2, 'ricor(di)scordanze', 4 percussion

420, piccolo, E-flat clarinet, bassoon, viola, cello, double bass, piano

Quid est..., trombone, double bass

ROUGE CLAIR-OBSCUR '...sans mémoire sans cœur sans sève...', piccolo, E-flat clarinet, bass clarinet, bass trombone, cello, double bass

Schegge, 'Gesti sparsi su una sola nota', clarinet, bass clarinet, cello, double bass

Studi per una kermesse, bass clarinet, baritone saxophone (+ alto saxophone), piano


Lacrimosa, 'Quasi un lamento' (text from the word "lacrimosa"), 3 sopranos, 3 mezzo-sopranos, 3 altos

Quare fremuerunt gentes (text from the Bible), mixed chorus


Ammonizione (text by Umberto Saba), mezzo-soprano, viola, vibraphone

...Astrali nidi..., 'Quasi un madrigale' (text by Giuseppe Ungaretti), 3 sopranos, 3 mezzo-sopranos, 3 altos, bass clarinet, viola, piano

Il Cuore della sera (text by Dino Campana), mezzo-soprano

Libres de tous liens (text by Guillaume Apollinaire), soprano/tenor, piano name... (text by the composer), soprano

Neiges, 'Quasi una scena' (text by Jean Cocteau), soprano, baritone, bass clarinet, B-flat trumpet, trombone, piano, 2 suspended cymbals (1 player)

Nell'Attesa, 'Quasi un delirio' (text by Rino Alessi), baritone, piccolo (+ alto flute), cello, piano

...oscuro...ridente...celato... (text by Giuseppe Ungaretti), baritone, 4 bassoons


12, place Vendôme

Etchings IV, 'Nove Paesaggi facili'

Etchings V, 2 pianos

Isola di memorie, toy piano

Jeux et Berceuses

Minima amoralia, 'Ceneri di storie in nove schizzi'

Monologo Primo, '...d'une sphère sans lumière...'

Monologo Secondo, 'Sphynxs-Vari(A)zioni'

Portrait à deux 'B. B.'


Giants 'Quattro Incisioni'. Zagreb Saxophone Quartet (Chromas, 2007)

Etchings IV, 'Nove Paesaggi facili'. Mariarosa Pozzi, piano (Numar Un: TS25-07, 2007)

Lachrymæ, 'Laus et lamentatio'. Angelo Di Giorgio/Sedean Sacs Group (Armonie, 2007)

Jeux et Berceuses. Antonietta Loffredo, piano (Phoenix Classics: PH 08137, 2008)