Feliz Anne Macahis

(b. 1987, Taytay, Rizal).

Filipina composer of orchestral, chamber, choral, and spatial works that have been performed in Asia, Europe and North America.

Ms. Macahis attended the University of the Philippines Diliman in Quezon City from 2004–09, where she studied composition with Jonas Baes in 2004–05 and from 2007–09, composition and orchestration with Josefino Chino Toledo in 2005 and from 2006–09 and musique concrète with Christine Muyco in 2005–06. She has studied composition with Kamran İnce at the University of Memphis since 2010.

Among her honours are the certificate of academic excellence Katibayan ng Kagalingan from the University of the Philippines Diliman (2004–07) and selection as the delegate of the Philippines at the International Contemporary Music Festival in Ho Chi Minh City (2007). Her music has been performed in France, Indonesia, the Philippines, Thailand, the USA, and Vietnam.

She is also active in other positions. As a singer, she has performed as an alto in the AUIT Vocal Chamber Ensemble since 2006 and the Manila Chamber Singers since 2006. In addition, she was a founding member of the UP Camerata Voices in 2007.


E-mail address:



Le Genou et l'Épaule des Tissées Étoiles, violin, orchestra (piccolo, flute, oboe, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, 2 French horns, trumpet, trombone, tuba, piano, timpani, glockenspiel, tubular bells, 19 or more strings), 2007

SIRIUS, gamelan, 2010


Modulations, flute, 2004

Glimpses of Darkness (vocalise), female voice with wide range, cello, piano, 2005

Aperçu, flute, oboe, clarinet, violin, viola, cello, 2006

Tissées Étoiles, flute, clarinet, bass clarinet, violin, viola, cello, piano, glockenspiel, tubular bells, 2007

InayMother (text by the composer), female voice with wide range, piano, 2007

Pas du tout, flute, oboe, clarinet, French horn, bassoon, 2008

Pretend that this is a real poem (text by Dayang Yraola), 4 mixed voices (all + musical glasses), clarinet, piano, 2008

Echoes of the Urban Decay, flute, bass clarinet, viola, cello, vibraphone, tam-tam, 2009, revised 2010


Ahay-ahay ba pakayin lawagun, hadiin-hadiin na mayan sahugunWhere shall I look? Where shall I search now? (text by Nagasura Madale), 8 mixed voices, 12 gongs (6 players), 2005

PamibiMy Woven Prayers (text by Romulo Vinci Bueza), 20 or more female voices, 2007

Pater Noster (text from Latin liturgy), mixed chorus, 2008

Twinkle little Star (text from a nursery rhyme), 20 or more male voices, 2008

Para sa natutulog kong mahalA Lullaby for my Love (text by Romulo Vinci Bueza), alto, bass, mixed chorus in 3 groups (4 voices each), 2008


Le Démence de la Nuit et les Tissées Étoiles (text by Romulo Vinci Bueza; performers are in an outdoor space; dancers wear bells on arms, legs), alto (+ rainstick), bass (+ rainstick), 20 or more children's voices/female voices (any 8 + balingbing [bamboo buzzers from the Philippines], suling [bamboo flutes from Southeast Asia]), 10 mixed voices (below 20 or more children's voices/female voices) (1st, 3rd, 5th, 7th, 9th + balingbing, suling, tagutok [bamboo scrapers from the Philippines], 2nd, 4th, 6th, 8th, 10th + balingbing, suling, kalutang [pairs of sticks from the Philippines]), 20 mixed voices (in a circle, in front of 10 mixed voices) (1st, 3rd, 5th, 7th, 9th, 12th, 14th, 16th, 18th, 20th + balingbing, kalutang, suling, 2nd, 4th, 6th, 8th, 10th, 11th, 13th, 15th, 17th, 19th + balingbing, kalutang, tagutok), 8 dancers, 2 bonang barung (racks of small tuned gongs from Indonesia), 2 gendèr (metallophones from Indonesia), 2 saron panerus (metallophones from Indonesia), gong ageng (gong with freely-vibrating sounds from Indonesia), 2 kulintang (racks of gongs from the Philippines), 6 suspended agung (gongs with stopped sounds from the Philippines; 3 players), 6 kempul (set of knobbed gongs from Indonesia; 3 players), wind chimes (suspended from a tree), 2008


Der müde Tod, flute, clarinet, bassoon, French horn, trombone, 2 violins, viola, cello, piano, 2014 (for Der müde Tod by Fritz Lang; collaboration with Marie-Luise Calvero, Melita Cruz, Alexander John Villanueva)