Aspasia Nasopoulou

(b. 11 October 1972, Athens).

Greek composer, now resident in the Netherlands, of mostly chamber and vocal works that have been performed in Asia and Europe.

Ms. Nasopoulou studied counterpoint with Spyros Raftopoulos, fugue and harmony with Katerina Mamidi and piano with Giannis Terezakis at the Conservatory in Piraeus from 1981–94, where she graduated with honours, then earned her BSc in geology at the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens in 1996. She later studied composition with Michail Travlos at the Nikos Skalkottas Conservatory in Athens from 1997–2001 and with Wim Henderickx and Fabio Nieder at the Conservatorium van Amsterdam from 2002–06, where she earned her BMus in 2003 and her MMus in 2005.

Her music has been performed in Finland, France, Greece, Italy, Japan, the Netherlands, Poland, Slovenia, Spain, and the UK.

She taught harmony, music history and piano in Greece from 1991–2002 and later taught piano at the British School of Amsterdam.

She has lived in the Netherlands since 2002.





LLAST [BALLAST] (choreography by Roser López Espinosa), 3 female dancers, alto saxophone (+ tenor saxophone), electric guitar, double bass, 2004

Passion Power Love Existence (tetralogy), 2003–05 (its four sections may be performed separately: Passion [text by Sappho, choreography by Nicola Hepp], mezzo-soprano, 4 female dancers, 2 male dancers, 2 bass recorders [by Joachim Paetzold], 2 contrabass recorders [by Joachim Paetzold], 2 percussion, 2003 [also version (choreography by Marina Peuranen) for mezzo-soprano, female dancer, 2 bass recorders (by Joachim Paetzold), 2 contrabass recorders (by Joachim Paetzold), 2 percussion, 2005]; Power [choreography by Nicola Hepp], male dancer, flute, 4 saxophones, 2004 [also version (choreography by Raquel Gualtero Soriano) for female dancer, flute, 4 saxophones, 2005; Love [choreography by Marina Peuranen], English horn, bass clarinet, violin, cello, double bass, piano, 2004; Existence [text by Saburo Teshigawara, choreography by Marina Peuranen], female speaker, 4 female dancers, 2 bass recorders [by Joachim Paetzold], 2 contrabass recorders [by Joachim Paetzold], flute, English horn, bass clarinet, 4 saxophones, 2 violins, cello, double bass, piano, 2 percussion, film [by Adnan Hasović], 2005)

Honger (music for puppet show by the Poppentheater Pierlala Hilversum), soprano, harp, 2006

4+1 (text by Rainer Maria Rilke), male voice–actor, bass clarinet, saxophones (1 player), 2 percussion, 2010


Journey, small orchestra (flute, oboe, clarinet, piano, timpani, 20 strings), 1998

Childlike Saturdays, 1999

Concerto, piano, orchestra, 2000

Chromata Laleonta, 3 gamelan players, small orchestra (17 players), 2003


String Quartet, 1997

Rencontre, soprano saxophone, piano, 1999

Three Moods, guitar, 1999

Entropia, violin, percussion, ensemble (oboe, clarinet, cello, double bass), 2000

Aionios Kyklos – Eternal Cycle, violin, cello, piano, 2001

Meiokeno – Miocene, bass clarinet, 2002

10 + Tessera, prepared piano, vibraphone (with 4 bows), 2002

Merose – The Day Has Come, flute, oboe, clarinet, harp, guitar, mandolin, violin, viola, cello, double bass, percussion, 2003

Narcissus and Echo, pan flute, guitar, cello, marimba, 2003

Saturday to Friday, flute, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, French horn, 2 trumpets, trombone, lights, 2003

Stigmas, marimba, 2005

Messenger I, marimba, 2005

Piece for four performers and tape, saxophones (1 player) (+ shō [mouth organ from Japan]), trumpet, double bass, piano, fixed media, 2006

Teiresias Kadmos, recorder, guitar, 2006

Here and there, alto saxophone, cello, piano, 2007

Psidra, flute, bass clarinet, vibraphone, 2007 (collaboration with André Douw)

Messenger II, marimba, 2008

The Cloths of Heaven, recorder, trumpet, live electronics, 2009–10

Instant, soprano saxophone, cello, 2009–10

Nanourisma – Lullaby, flute, piano, 2009–10

Deseo, accordion, 2010

Three Love Haiku, cello, percussion, 2010

New Kite, piano, accordion, 2011

If you love me, 2 recorders, 2012

Inamorata, 2 recorders, 2012

Lelia Doura, 5 recorders, 2012

Vigo, 3 recorders, 2012

Why?, harp, 2012


Rodia=SO4H2 (text by Nikos Engonopoulos), mixed chorus, 2001 (also versions for soprano, bass clarinet; soprano, bass recorder; longer version for soprano, alto recorder, bass recorder)


The end is where we start from (text by T. S. Eliot), alto, baritone, English horn, bass clarinet, violin, viola, cello, double bass, piano, 2 percussion, 1998

Rodia=SO4H2, soprano, bass clarinet, 2002 (version of choral work; also version for soprano, bass recorder, 2003; longer version for soprano, alto recorder, bass recorder, 2004)

Asemna – Indecent (text by Thanos Zoes), mezzo-soprano, speaker, flute, piano, string quartet, 2002

Spirits of the dead (text by Edgar Allan Poe), soprano, mezzo-soprano, cello, piano, 2004

Ballades I, III (text by Christine de Pizan), mezzo-soprano, recorder, viol, 2005 (also version of Ballade I for soprano, piano, 2009)

One/hitotsu (text by Dan Albertson), soprano, shō, 2006

Eternal Light (text by Dante Alighieri), mezzo-soprano, flute, piano, percussion, 2 violins, viola, cello, double bass, 2006

HemiAeroPartitura (text by Óscar Hahn), soprano, 2 recorders, 2008

The Lot of Love (text by William Butler Yeats), mezzo-soprano, viola, MIDI-keyboard, 2011


Five Miniatures, 1997

Ekleipsis – Eclipse, 2001

Eudoxia & Olinda, 2012

Andria, piano 4 hands, 2013


For a Little White Seashell: Preludes and Dances for the Piano (Manos Hatzidakis), 2 pianos, 2000