Marko Nikodijević

(b. 4 January 1980, Subotica).

Serbian composer, now resident in Germany, of mostly chamber works that have been performed in Europe and elsewhere.

Mr. Nikodijević studied composition with Srđan Hofman at the Univerzitet umetnosti u Beogradu – University of Arts in Belgrade from 1995–2002, where he then studied composition with Zoran Erić in 2002–03. He then studied composition with Marco Stroppa at the Staatliche Hochschule für Musik und darstellende Kunst Stuttgart from 2003–05 and later studied music theory privately with Bernd Asmus in 2008–09.

Among his honours are three prizes in the competition of the Internationale Gaudeamus Muziekweek in Amsterdam (honourable mention, 2003; honourable mention, 2007; First Prize, 2010, for cvetić, kućica.../la lugubre gondola [trauermusik nach franz liszt]), the Komponistenpreis of the Brandenburger Biennale (2008), a recommended work at the UNESCO International Rostrum of Composers (2009), Second Prize in the competition for orchestral music Tansman (2010), a residency at the Cité Internationale des Arts in Paris (2012–13), and the Förderpreis der Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung in Munich (2013).

He has lived in Germany since 2003.

His primary publisher is the Internationale Musikverlage Hans Sikorski.


E-mail address for consulting scores:



vivier. ein nachtprotokoll (chamber opera in 6 scenes, libretto by Gunther Geltinger), countertenor, tenor, baritone, bass, mixed chorus, small orchestra, 2012–14


cvetić, kućica.../la lugubre gondola (trauermusik nach franz liszt), orchestra (9 winds, 7 brass, harp, piano [+ amplified pianino], 3 percussion, 25 strings), 2002–09

GHB/tanzaggregat, large orchestra (11 winds, 11 brass, harp, piano, timpani, 3 percussion, 50 strings), 2009–11


music box/selbstportrait mit ligeti und strawinsky (und messiaen ist auch dabei), flute (+ piccolo), E-flat clarinet (+ bass clarinet), clarinet (+ bass clarinet), violin, viola, cello, double bass, piano (+ harpsichord), celesta, accordion, percussion, 2000–01, revised 2003, 2006

objekt/raum (gesualdo transcriptions), flute (+ piccolo), oboe (+ recorder), 2 clarinets (both + E-flat clarinet, bass clarinet, contrabass clarinet), bassoon (+ contrabassoon), French horn, 2 trumpets (both + piccolo trumpet), trombone, 2 violins, viola, 2 cellos, double bass, electronic organ, percussion, 2004

chambres de ténèbres/tombeau de claude vivier, flute (+ piccolo, alto flute), oboe (+ English horn), E-flat clarinet (+ bass clarinet), clarinet (+ bass clarinet), bassoon, French horn, trumpet, trombone, 2 violins, viola, cello, double bass, piano (+ celesta), percussion, 2005–07, revised 2009–12

gesualdo abschrift/antiphon super o vos omnes, flute, clarinet, saxophone, French horn, trumpet, trombone, 2 pianos, timpani (+ 10 cowbells), viola, cello, double bass, live electronics, 2011

gesualdo dub/raum mit gelöschter figur, piano, ensemble (flute [+ piccolo], E-flat clarinet [+ bass clarinet], clarinet [+ bass clarinet], bassoon [+ contrabassoon], French horn, trumpet, trombone, harp, 2 violins, viola, cello, double bass, electronic organ, 3 percussion), 2012

ketamin/schwarz (drone), trumpet, trombone, electric guitar, cello, piano, 2 percussion, live electronics, 2012

grid/index, piano, percussion, live electronics, 2011–


exaudi/bruckner abglanz (motet, text from Psalm 55), boy soprano, mezzo-soprano, orchestra (8 winds, 6 brass, piano, 3 percussion, strings), 2000, revised 2007

prituri sa planinata / plač, tmina, odjek (text from a folksong from Bulgaria), alto, alto flute, bass clarinet, guitar, viola, cello, vibraphone, live electronics, 2013


sadness/untitled, 2000