Fredrik Österling

(b. 12 February 1966, Gällivare).

Swedish composer of stage, orchestral, chamber, choral, and vocal works that have been performed throughout Europe.

Mr. Österling studied music at Sjöviks folkhögskola – Folk High School in Sjövik in 1984–85 and music-teacher training at Örebro universitet from 1985–89. He then studied analysis and form with Lennart Hall and composition with Ole Lützow-Holm and Lars Johan Werle at Göteborgs universitet – University of Gothenburg from 1989–93.

He is also active in other positions. He served as composer-in-residence to the foundation Musik i Väst in Västra Götaland from 1997–99 and later at a theatre in Skövde. He served as secretary-general of the Föreningen svenska tonsättare – Swedish Society of Composers in Stockholm from 2000–04.


E-mail address:



Näktergalen och rosen (opera in 1 act, libretto by Iwar Bergkwist), 5 soloists, small orchestra, 1990

Orfeus eller Orfeus död (opera in 1 act, libretto by Johan Österling), 7 soloists, mixed chorus, orchestra, 1991–92

Yggdrasil (opera in 1 act, libretto by Hans Berndtsson), baritone, mixed chorus, dancer, trombone, cello, 2 percussion, 1998–99

Elin/Helena: ad regna serena (music drama in 1 act, text by the composer), 4 soloists, actor, mixed chorus, oboe, contrabassoon, harp, organ, percussion, string orchestra, 2000

S@una subtil (opera), soloists, ensemble, 2001


The lost melody, string orchestra in 3 groups, 1995–96

IgnisAqua, large orchestra, 2001

Tenthe austere charms, small orchestra (15 players), 2001–02

ASKquasi un concerto, piano, small orchestra, 2002


shall inherit, 5 percussion, 1991

Nescio, flute, 1991

I Dolce Viso Dolce, flute (+ piccolo), violin, cello, percussion, 1994

cum figuris, 2 violins, viola, cello, double bass, percussion, 1996

Male-et-dictus 1, trombone, 3 percussion, 1996

Persuasio: litet retoriskt stycke, saxophone, 3 percussion, 1996

Viole?!, viola, 1996

Modes d'expression, flute, clarinet, trombone, 2 violins, viola, cello, piano, percussion, 1996

Male-et-dictus 2, trombone, cello, 1997

Nature morte, flute, clarinet, violin, cello, piano, 1997

On reaching for words, clarinet, viola, piano, 1998

Leaves of Yggdrasil, violin, 1999

Over Maps, flute, viola, cello, vibraphone, 1999 (version by François Sarhan of first section of Love; formal aspects)

Voi ch'ascoltate amor m'a posto, flute, organ, percussion, 1999

Nine: the esoteric charm of austerity, alto flute, 11-string alto guitar, viola, 2000

DuaSensua, flute, violin, 2001

Slideshow, percussion, 2001–02

Zælda, 10 improvisational players, 2001–02

Drudenfuß, flute, clarinet, trombone, violin, cello, piano, 2002


Three Sonnets (text by William Shakespeare), 12 mixed voices, 1991–93

De Sju Inseglen (oratorio), 2 speakers, 2 mixed choruses, flute (+ piccolo), clarinet (+ bass clarinet), French horn, 7 trombones, 3 violins, viola, cello, double bass, organ, 3 percussion, 1994–95

Le Rossignol (text by Paul Verlaine), mixed chorus, 1997

Lullaby (text by W. H. Auden), mezzo-soprano, mixed chorus, percussion, 1997

The Shield of Achilles (text by W. H. Auden), mezzo-soprano, baritone, mixed chorus, string quartet, small orchestra, 1997

ängel? (text by Erik Johan Stagnelius), speaker, mixed chorus, trombone, cello, piano, percussion, 1998

[Passionerat: ny musik om kärlek] Quartetto: étude sentimentale (text by Paul Verlaine), 4 mixed voices, 2000

Wir sind nur Mund, mixed chorus, 2001–02


Sub luna (text by Erik Axel Karlfeldt), mezzo-soprano, oboe, 4 percussion, 1988

Tale untold: verbal pieces 1 (text by William Shakespeare), 2 mezzo-sopranos, flute, clarinet (+ bass clarinet), bassoon, 2 violins, viola, cello, double bass, piano, percussion, 1990

Parode: verbal pieces 2 (text by Johan Österling), 2 mezzo-sopranos, oboe, cello, piano, 1990–91

Beauty: verbal pieces 3 (text from syllables), 3 mezzo-sopranos, piano, 3 percussion, ensemble (2 violins, viola, cello, double bass), 1993

Le Vin des amants (text by Charles Baudelaire), mezzo-soprano, flute, clarinet (+ bass clarinet), French horn, 2 violins, viola, cello, double bass, piano, 2 percussion, 1997–98

Stiamo, Amor (text by Francesco Petrarca), soprano, flute, organ, 1998

Love; formal aspects, soprano, flute, clarinet, viola, cello, piano, percussion, 1999 (also version by François Sarhan of first section, Over Maps, for flute, viola, cello, vibraphone, 1999)

Inför kvinnan ställd: nio sonetter om åtrå och bitterhet (text by Frans G. Bengtsson), soprano, tenor, cello, 2 percussion, 1999