Arturo Rodas

(b. 3 March 1954, Quito).

Ecuadorian composer, now resident in the UK, of orchestral, chamber, choral, piano, and electroacoustic works that have been performed in the Americas and Europe.

Mr. Rodas studied initially at the Conservatorio Nacional de Música in Quito and then privately with Gerardo Guevara. He studied with José Berghmans in Quito and Paris in 1978–79, then studied composition at the École Normale de Musique de Paris, on scholarships from the government of France and UNESCO.

He is also active in other positions. He co-founded Ensemble Denojours in Paris in 1983 and served as editor of the musical magazine OPUS from 1986–89.

He has lived in the UK since 1990.


E-mail address:



Entropia, 1980–81

Arcaica, 1983–84

Climax, 1985

Güilli gu, 1985

Fibris, 1986

Obsesiva, speaker, orchestra, fixed media, 1987–88

Habia una vez, 12 mixed voices ad libitum, percussion, 12 strings, 1990


Andino III, flute, 1983

Mordente I, 4 clarinets, 1984

Espacios Invertidos I, percussion, 1985

Ramificaciones temporales, clarinet, 1985

Oh...!, trumpet, 1986

Melodias de Cámara, ensemble, 1987

Obstinado I, cello, 1987

A, B, C, D, string quartet, 1988–89

Andante, saxophone, piano, organ, 3 percussion, 1991

Obstinado II, cello, 1992

Andino IV, flute, 1992

Espacios Invertidos II, percussion, 1992

Mordente II, 4 clarinets, 1993

Lieder, percussion, 1996

Full Moon Business, ensemble, 1997

Buñuelos, trumpet, 2002

Tres Piezas para clarinete, clarinet, 2002

Laútico, lute, 2002

The Book of the Orchestra: Fauna (18 solo pieces), piccolo, alto flute, flute, oboe, English horn, bass clarinet, bassoon, contrabassoon, French horn, piccolo trumpet, trumpet, trombone, tuba, violin, viola, cello, timpani, vibraphone, 2002–03 (its sections may be performed separately)

The Book of the Orchestra: Five Jokers, 3 trumpets, 2003


Introitus, 4 soloists, 2 mixed choruses, organ, orchestra, 1987–88

Kyrie, 4 soloists, 2 mixed choruses, organ, orchestra, 1987–88

La, mixed chorus, orchestra, 1988


Oh...!, 1987

24.5 Piano Preludes, 1998–99


Fermez les yeux s. v. p., fixed media, 1983, revised 2001

Bailecito, fixed media, 2001

El Llanto del Disco Duro, fixed media, 2001

The Book of the Orchestra: Bestiario, fixed media, 2002