François Rose

(b. 1959, Montréal, Québec).

Canadian composer, now resident in the USA, of mostly chamber works that have been performed throughout the Americas, Australia and Europe.

Prof. Rose studied composition with Bruce Mather, Bruce Pennycook and John Rea at McGill University in Montréal. He studied composition and orchestration with Gérard Grisey in Paris from 1989–91, as well as computer music with Tristan Murail at IRCAM in Paris, on a grant from the Canada Council for the Arts. He studied composition with Brian Ferneyhough and Roger Reynolds and worked in acoustic research with F. Richard Moore at the University of California, San Diego and there received his PhD in composition in 1997.

Among his honours are the ZAiKS Prize in the competition Serocki in Poland (1990, for Face à face) and Second Prize in the memorial competition Edvard Grieg in Oslo (2001, for Le Souvenir de l'Oubli).

He is also active in other positions. He has written several articles for the journal Perspectives of New Music and other publications.

He has taught as a professor of composition, harmony and orchestration at the University of the Pacific in Stockton since 1997. In addition, he has given guest lectures in Canada, France, Germany, and Poland, including at the Ferienkurse in Darmstadt in 1994 and IRCAM in 1996.


E-mail address:



Face à face, small orchestra, 1989

L'Écho des Temps, small orchestra, 1995

Souvenirs de demain, 1999 (version of work for piano)


L'Éveil du Spectre, clarinet, 1988

Au Cœur du Temps, flute, clarinet, French horn, violin, cello, piano, 1990

Vers l'ombre du jour, piccolo, clarinet, double bass, piano, 1992

Lueur de nuit, violin, 1993

Passages nuageux, 3 percussion, 1994

Points d'émergence, percussion, 1996

A day at the sea (percussionist also speaks text), percussion, 1999

Le Souvenir de l'Oubli, violin, piano, 1999

Demain oublié, flute, clarinet, violin, cello, piano, percussion, 2001

L'Aura du Sablier, cello, percussion, 2001


L'Illusion du Spectre visible, soprano, flute, clarinet, French horn, violin, cello, piano, 1991


Cul-de-sac, 1989

Fissions atmosphériques, 2 pianos, 1992

Souvenirs de demain, 1997 (also version for orchestra)


À perte d'espace, 1990