Anton Safronov

(b. 19 May 1972, Moscow).

Russian composer, now resident in both Germany and Russia, of mostly orchestral and chamber works that have been performed in Europe and elsewhere.

Mr. Safronov studied composition with Edison Denisov and Vladimir Tarnopolski and musicology with Yuri Kholopov at the P. I. Tchaikovsky State Conservatory in Moscow from 1991–96 and graduated with a diploma of excellency. He was then an assistant to Vladimir Tarnopolski there from 1996–99. He also studied as a fellow in Rheinsberg from 1994–98, where he attended masterclasses with Paul-Heinz Dittrich, Joël-François Durand, Dieter Schnebel, and Mathias Spahlinger. Moreover, he was a follow of the Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst at the Universität der Künste Berlin and the Institut für Neue Musik, both from 1996–98, where he attended courses with Walter Zimmermann, and a fellow of the Berliner Kultursenat in 1998, when he had postgraduate studies with Wolfgang Rihm in Karlsruhe.

Among his honours are Premier Prix in the competition Besançon (1996, for L'Espace de sentiment continu) and First Prize in the competition for young composers P. Jurgenson in Moscow (2001, for blätter von gesternblätter von morgen). His music has been performed throughout in France, Germany, Ireland, Israel, Kyrgyzstan, the Netherlands, Russia, and Sweden.


E-mail address:



Adagio Concertante, flute, string orchestra, 1991, revised 1992

L'Espace de sentiment continu, large orchestra (62 players), 1996

blätter von gesternblätter von morgen, small orchestra (13 players), 1999, revised 2001


String Quartet, 1987, revised 1990

Spring – ...concerto, flute, oboe, clarinet, French horn, bassoon, 1992

Three Fragments, French horn, 2 trumpets, trombone, tuba, 1994

...riflessioni..., viola, cello, double bass, 1995

Bird of Farewell, flute (+ bass flute), 1997, revised 1998

CHRONOS... – DREAM (Ever Wrath of Running Time), clarinet (+ E-flat clarinet, bass clarinet), bassoon (+ contrabassoon), French horn (+ tenor tuba), 2 violins, viola, cello, double bass, 2000, revised 2001

sentimento – ...CODA (in memoriam Edison Denisov), piano, ensemble (flute [+ bass flute], clarinet [+ bass clarinet], trombone, violin, viola, cello, double bass, accordion, percussion), 2001 (version of work for piano)


Vom See (text by Francisco Tanzer), 8 mixed voices, 1998


Three Verses by Rafael Alberti, alto/baritone, piano, 1993


sentimento – ...CODA (in memoriam Edison Denisov), 1997, revised 2001 (also version for piano, ensemble [flute (+ bass flute), clarinet (+ bass clarinet), trombone, violin, viola, cello, double bass, accordion, percussion])