Sophia Serghi

(b. 1972, Nicosia).

Cypriot composer, now resident in the USA, of stage, orchestral, chamber, and vocal works that have been performed in Europe and North America.

Ms. Serghi studied with Vincent McDermott at Lewis and Clark College in Oregon from 1990–94, where she earned her BA cum laude, and then with George Edwards, Jonathan D. Kramer and Fred Lerdahl at Columbia University from 1994–98, where she earned her MA and DMA. She also attended the Aspen Music Festival and School in Colorado in 1992–93, the Oregon Bach Festival in 1995–96 and the Conservatoire Américain de Fontainebleau in 1997.

Among her honours are the Fulbright Scholarship and Presidential Scholarship (1990–94), the Cheney Award (1992–93) and the Rena Ratte Award (1994), all at Lewis and Clark College, and the Mellon Fellowship (1994–98) and the Edna and Boris Rapoport Prize (1995) at Columbia University, as well as First Prize in the competition of the Cyprus State Orchestra (1997, for Kavo Greko), First Prize in the competition of the Athens Concert Hall (1998, for Sizzle) and First Prize in the competition Whittaker (1999, for Panegyric). Most recently, she served as artist-in-residence at the Cité International des Arts in Paris (2000, on the Virginia Atelier Award) and received the Salvatore Martirano Composition Award from the University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign (2000, for Sizzle) and Third Prize in the Center for Mediterranean Music Composition Award (2002, for Flying Flowers).

She served as the pianist of the multimedia ensemble Ultra-Violet in New York, New York from 1996–98 and as director of the HY-PER Art Ensemble at the College of William & Mary in Virginia from 1998–2000. She has served as artistic director and pianist of the SCHIZO5 Ensemble in Cyprus since 2000.

She taught as an assistant professor at the College of William & Mary from 1998–2000, where she has again taught as an assistant professor since 2002. She taught as a visiting professor at Ionian University in Corfu, the University of Athens and the University of Macedonia in Thessaloníki from 2000–02.


E-mail address:



Der kaukasische Kreidekreis (incidental music, play by Bertolt Brecht), mixed chorus, violin, piano, fixed media, 1994

Lark (incidental music, play by Jean Anouilh), mixed chorus, fixed media, 2001

Alavrostisiotis (incidental music, play by Pavlos Liasides), female voice, male voice, 2 clarinets, 2002

Axortagos Vassilias (incidental music, play by Athena Drakopoulou), soprano, bass, electric cello, percussion, fixed media, 2002


Sirtos, oboe/clarinet, small orchestra, 1994

Kavo Greko, small orchestra, 1996

X-Games (concerto), piano, orchestra, 1998

Panegyric, small orchestra, 1999

Hommage à P-Funk, symphonic band, 2000

Palmos (concerto), bassoon, piano, orchestra, 2001


Étude, guitar, 1994

Pink Flamingos, flute, clarinet, snare drum, 1995

K. I. S. S., 4 saxophones, 1995

Jet-Skis, flute, clarinet, violin, cello, piano, 1996

Blade-Runner, flute, clarinet, soprano saxophone (+ alto saxophone), violin, cello, piano, 2 percussion, 1997

Remembrance of Things Past, string quartet, 1997

Sizzle, flute, soprano saxophone, violin, cello, piano, 2 percussion, 1997

Nocturne: L'Amour dans la vie est rouge, tenor saxophone, piano, 1998

Sax and Violince, tenor saxophone, violin, 1999

Unrequited Love, viola/cello, fixed media, 2001

Flying Flowers, clarinet, cello, piano, vibraphone, 2002

Indecent Proposal, violin, fixed media, 2003


Saette Amore (text by Francesco Petrarca), mixed chorus, 1994

Veggio, Penso, Ardo, Piango (text by Francesco Petrarca), mixed chorus, 1994

Ikon (vocalise), mixed chorus, flute, clarinet, glockenspiel, 2000


Cantus Integritatis (text by the composer), mezzo-soprano, string orchestra, 1993

Sappho's Choice (text by Sappho), soprano, violin, piano, 1994

Mystic-Odes (text by Jalāl ad-Dīn Muhammad Rūmī), soprano, piano, 1997

Panic (text by George Vizyinos), boy soprano, synthesizer, 3 percussion, string orchestra, 1999

Ariadne I (text by the composer), soprano, viola, piano, 2003


Mosaic, 1993


The Noahs (opera, libretto by Thomas Lindt), soprano, baritone, fixed media, 2002

Sonic Sails (opera, libretto by the composer), soprano, baritone, 2 pianos (both + synthesizer), 2 percussion, fixed media, 2003


Jackson Sundown, 1995 (Wildbill Productions)

Memory, 2003 (Vassilis Mazomenos)


Unrequited Love. Andreas Georgotas, viola (Turangalîla: LSO4, 2002)