Marijn Simons

(b. 25 December 1982, Geleen).

Dutch composer of mostly orchestral and chamber works that have been performed in Europe and elsewhere; he is also active as a violinist.

Mr. Simons began studies in violin at age four and simultaneously started to compose. He studied composition with Daan Manneke at the Conservatorium van Amsterdam from 1994–2002 and studied composition privately with Sir James MacMillan in the UK from 2002–06, on a grant from the Prins Bernhard Cultuurfonds. He also studied violin privately with Saschko Gawriloff from 1996–2002 and studied conducting privately with Jean-Bernard Pommier and Ed Spanjaard from 2001–05.

Among his honours are the Philip Morris Kunstprijs (2001) and First Prize for best choral composition from the Stichting tot Bevordering der Toonkunsten (2001, for The City of the Soul, Op. 18). He later served as composer-in-residence to the Delft Chamber Music Festival in 2004 and the Cabrillo Festival in Santa Cruz, California in 2005.

As a violinist, he made his professional début at age ten. He has played with orchestras in Germany, Mexico, the Netherlands, the UK, and the USA.





Noises in the Night, large orchestra, Op. 14, 1998–99 (also version of three sections as The Warrior with no Fear, 5 percussion, Op. 14a)

Concerto d'un bon Esprit, piano, small orchestra, Op. 16, 1999

Concerto Comique (concerto no. 1), trombone, orchestra, Op. 17, 2000

Secret Notes (concerto no. 2), violin, small orchestra, Op. 19, 2000–01 (also version for violin, orchestra, Op. 19a, 2002)

Concerto Fabuleux, percussion, orchestra, Op. 21, 2002

A Tí Te Toca, 2 pianos (1st + maracas), orchestra, Op. 23, 2003 (one section may be performed separately: Salsa, 2 pianos [1st + maracas], small orchestra [8 winds, 6 brass, 5 percussion, double bass], Op. 23a, 2003; also versions of one section, Mariachi, for orchestra, Op. 23b, 2003; 2 guitars, Op. 23c; string orchestra, Op. 23d, 2004; violin, piano, Op. 23e; violin, marimba, Op. 23f)

Visiting the Angels (concerto no. 2), trombone, orchestra, Op. 25, 2003–04

Symphony No. 1, large orchestra, Op. 26, 2004–05


Capriccio for Stan & Ollie, violin, piano, Op. 11, 1996 (also versions for 2 oboes [2nd + English horn], E-flat clarinet, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons [2nd + contrabassoon], xylophone, marimba, Op. 11a, 1996; violin, marimba, Op. 11b, 2004)

String Quartet No. 2, Op. 12, 1996–98

Cuddly Animals (concerto no. 1), violin, ensemble (2 flutes [both + piccolo], 2 oboes, E-flat clarinet, A-clarinet [+ clarinet], bass clarinet, 2 bassoons [2nd + contrabassoon], 2 French horns, double bass, 2 percussion), Op. 13, 1997–98

Rocking Birds, piccolo, flute, alto flute, bass flute, Op. 15, 1999 (also version for 4 saxophones, Op. 15a, 1999)

The Warrior with no Fear, 5 percussion, Op. 14a, 2001 (version of three sections from Noises in the Night, Op. 14)

The Fifth Sun, 4 percussion, Op. 20, 2001

Mariachi, 2 guitars, Op. 23c, 2003 (version of section of A Tí Te Toca; also versions for violin, piano, Op. 23e, 2004; violin, marimba, Op. 23f, 2004)

The Circus, clarinet, bassoon, French horn, 2 violins, viola, cello, double bass, Op. 24, 2003

String Quartet No. 3, Op. 27, 2005


The City of the Soul (text by Lord Alfred Douglas), 8 male voices, Op. 18, 2000 (also version for 8 mixed voices, Op. 18a, 2000)


Five poems by Emily Dickinson (text by Emily Dickinson), soprano, string quartet, Op. 22, 2003 (also version for soprano, string orchestra, Op. 22a, 2003; shorter version as Three poems by Emily Dickinson, soprano, piano, Op. 22b, 2003)


Capriccio for Stan & Ollie, Op. 11. Marijn Simons, violin; Jet Janssen, piano (Project 226, 1998)

Capriccio for Stan & Ollie, Op. 11a; String Quartet No. 2, Op. 12; Cuddly Animals, Op. 13. Marijn Simons, violin; Mondriaan Kwartet; Jeroen Weierink/Holland Wind Players (Etcetera Records: KTC 1219, 1999)