Črt Sojar Voglar

(b. 27 September 1976, Ljubljana).

Slovenian composer of mostly orchestral and chamber works that have been performed throughout Europe and elsewhere.

Mr. Sojar Voglar studied music theory at a secondary school in Ljubljana from 1992–96. He studied composition with Marko Mihevc at the Academy of Music in Ljubljana from 1996–2000, where he then had postgraduate studies in analysis and composition with Marko Mihevc from 2001–04 and earned his MA in both subjects, as well as his doctorate in 2006.

Among his honours is a residency at the International Centre for Composers in Visby, Sweden (2006). His music has been performed in Austria, Brazil, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Germany, Italy, North Macedonia, Romania, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, and the USA.

He is also active in other positions. He served as secretary of the Society of Slovenian Composers from 2002–10. In addition, he prepared the book The Composers' Traces since 2003 (2003, Society of Slovenian Composers).

He taught solfège at the Academy of Music in Ljubljana from 2001–04, music theory at the Franc Šturm School of Music in Ljubljana in 2006–07 and music theory at the Organ Music School in Novo Mesto from 2006–08. He has taught music theory and solfège at the Intermediate Music and Ballet School in Ljubljana since 2007.

In addition to the works listed below, he has composed dance music and scores for films.





The Lark (text by the composer), speaker, 2 flutes, piano, 1996

A Tale of the Frog (ballet in 5 scenes, scenario by the composer, after a folk tale from Slovenia), small orchestra, 2006


Sinfonia in A major, 'In stile classico', string orchestra, Op. 18, 1997

Sinfonietta, string orchestra, 1999

Illuminatio, vibraphone, orchestra, 1999–2000

Concerto No. 1, piano, string orchestra, 2000

Double Concerto, flute, harp, small orchestra (3 percussion, strings), 2000

Portrait, violin, orchestra, 2001

Concerto, cello, orchestra, 2001–02

Contemplatio, bassoon/violin, string orchestra, 2001–02

Impressions of Life, string orchestra, 2002

Contrasts in Colour, large orchestra, 2002–03

The Exhibition Concertino?, clarinet, small orchestra (French horn, trumpet, trombone, percussion, 14 strings), 2003

Concerto No. 2, piano, string orchestra, 2004

Concerto, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, orchestra, 2004

Symphony No. 1, large orchestra, 2006

Monssong, small orchestra, 2007

Thy Young Heart, small orchestra (20 players), 2007

Symphony No. 2, large orchestra, 2007–08

Concerto, flute, orchestra (4 French horns, 3 trumpets, 2 trombones, harp, timpani, 2 percussion, strings), 2007–08

TNA Concerto, vibraphone, orchestra, 2008


Sonatina, flute, 1996

Figurine, violin, piano, 1997

Trio, violin, viola, cello, Op. 20, 1997

Divertimento grazioso, violin, cello, piano, 1998

Jazz Capriccio, flute, piano, percussion, 1998

Sonata, flute, piano, Op. 32, 1998

Jeux de buffoon, oboe, piano, 1998

Quintet No. 1, flute, oboe, clarinet, French horn, bassoon, 1998

Five Bagatelles, flute, violin, piano, 1998

Three Bagatelles, 3 percussion, 1998

Sonata, trombone, piano, 1998–99

Dance Suite, flute, violin, viola, piano, 1999

Suite, flute, harp, Op. 40, 1999

FantasiaPoem, cello, piano, 1999

Passacaglia dramatica, bass clarinet, piano, 1999

Trio, flute, cello, piano, Op. 45, 1999–2000

Pastorale, guitar, 2000

Tango, flute, piano, 2000

Sonatina, violin, piano, Op. 49, 2000

Three Lyric Poems, violin, piano, 2000

Relax, flute, oboe, clarinet, French horn, bassoon, 2 violins, viola, cello, 2000

Arabesques, E-flat clarinet, 2 clarinets, alto clarinet, bass clarinet, contrabass clarinet, 2001

Jeux No. 1, flute, piano, 2001

Sparkles, 2 flutes (one + alto flute), harp, cello, 2001

The Carousel of Life, guitar, 2002

Jeux No. 2, clarinet, piano, 2002

String Quartet No. 1, Op. 66, 2002

Trio, flute, clarinet, bassoon, Op. 67, 2002

Tango Marakleano, guitar, violin, accordion, 2002

The Kisses of Nature, 2 harps, 2003

Quatre Pièces pastorales, harmonica, harp, guitar, 2003

The Angel of Love, flute, clarinet, trombone, viola, cello, piano, percussion, 2003

The Play of the Light, harp, 2003

Cuckoo Variations, violin, piano, 2003–04

The Bird Tango, 3 piccolos, piano, 2004

The Dance of the Cuckoo, French horn, violin, cello, accordion, 2004

Novelettes, 2 flutes, harp, cello, 2004

Yearning, 3 flutes, alto flute, 2004

Little Secrets, E-flat clarinet, 2 clarinets, bass clarinet, 2004

Trio, French horn, violin, piano, 2004–05

Quintet No. 2, flute, oboe, clarinet, French horn, bassoon, 2005

Brainwave, oboe, French horn, 2005

The Message, flute, 4 guitars, 4 cellos, 2005

Sonata, cello, piano, 2005

Sonatina, violin, 2005

The Wedding Dance, 3 bassoons, 2005

Passion, 12 cellos, 2005–06

String Quartet No. 2, 2006

Secret Sounds of Magic, flute, oboe, clarinet, trumpet, trombone, violin, double bass, accordion, 2006

Le-Team, alto flute, piano, 2006

Silversong, French horn, harp/piano, 2006

Jokers, French horn, trumpet, trombone, 2006

Short, but Sweet, alto saxophone, piano, 2006

The Confession of Music, accordion, 2006

Moods, 2 alto flutes, 2 flutes, 2006

Claritango, E-flat clarinet, 2 clarinets, alto clarinet, bass clarinet, contrabass clarinet, 2007

The Heavenly Ecstasy, violin, cello, 2007

Sound Touches, oboe, piano, 2007

Pulsation, 2 guitars, 2007

Waving, flute, guitar, violin, 2007

The New Time, clarinet, violin, cello, piano, 2007

The Rainbow, flute, piano, 2008

Sun Cells, flute, clarinet, harp, 2008

Musica Ricercata, clarinet, string quartet, 2008


Ave Maria, mixed chorus, 1997

Why it scares at night (text by Zlatka Levstek), youth chorus, 1997

Te Deum laudamus, mixed chorus, organ, 1999

Miraculous! (text by Jana Kolenč), mixed chorus, 2002

The Sleigh Bells (text by Ljudmila Prunk-Utva), children's chorus, 2004

Sanctus, mixed chorus, flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, French horn, trumpet, trombone, harp, accordion, percussion, 2005

Mass, mixed chorus, 2005–06

Geoss and Slovenia (text by Jože Dernovšek), male chorus, 2006

Alone (text by Simon Gregorčič), children's chorus, 2006

The Dancer Saves Herself from the Devil (text from a folksong from Hotiza), mixed chorus, 2006–07

The Traveller (text by Tone Pavček), mixed chorus, 2007


The Allegory of Love (text by France Prešeren), bass-baritone, piano, 2000

Two epistolas (text by Boris A. Novak), mezzo-soprano, viola da gamba, harpsichord, 2006


Sonatina in C, Op. 1, 1990

Three Preludes, 1996

Who flies high, falls deep, 1996–97

Sarcasms, 1999

Vanishing Moments, 2002


Gloria, 2000

Six Little Inventions, 2003