Nicolae Teodoreanu

(b. 26 June 1962, Bucharest).

Romanian composer of mostly orchestral, chamber and vocal works that have been performed throughout Europe; he is also active as a musicologist.

Mr. Teodoreanu studied with Ștefan Niculescu, Aurel Stroe and Anatol Vieru at the Universitatea Națională de Muzică București, where he earned his BA in composition in 1986. He later studied with Paul-Heinz Dittrich, York Höller, Dieter Schnebel, and Walter Zimmermann at the Universität der Künste Berlin from 1994–96, on a scholarship from the Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst, and studied electroacoustic music with Dieter Kaufmann at the Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst in Vienna in 1996–97, on the Herder-Stipendium. He earned his PhD at the Academia de Muzică Gheorghe Dima in Cluj-Napoca in 2002, with his dissertation Intonation Systems in Romanian Folklore.

Among his honours are a mention in the competition Carl Maria von Weber (1991, for String Quartet) and a residency in Dilsberg (1999), on a scholarship from the Kulturstiftung Rhein-Neckar-Kreis.

As a musicologist, he has written articles for numerous publications in Romania and has been active as a researcher at the Institutul de Etnografie și Folclor Constantin Brăiloiu in Bucharest since 1990. He co-founded the Romanian Society of Ethnomusicology in 1996, which is the section in Romania of the International Council for Traditional Music. In addition, he undertook research at the Colegiul Noua Europă in Bucharest from 1999–2002, on a scholarship.

He has taught as an associate professor of computer music, ethnomusicology and musical forms and analyses at both the Universitatea Națională de Muzică București and the Universitatea Transilvania din Brașov since 1990.


E-mail address:



Corabia (mini-chamber opera, libretto by the composer, after the Bible, Gert Kaiser, Ludwig Achim von Arnim, Clemens Brentano), 4/8/12 mixed voices, trombone, tuba, violin, cello, 1996 (may be performed as a concert work)


Poem, large orchestra, 1989

Concerto, viola, orchestra, 1991–92

Vârstele timpului, large orchestra, 1993

Concerto, violin, string orchestra, 1995


String Quartet, 1989

Recitativo secco e basso continuo, trumpet, double bass, 1995

Heterophony, 3 alto recorders, 1995

Strigare de biruință, violin, 1999


Ceremonial (texts from the Bible, folk sources), mixed chorus, 1994

Corabia (mini-chamber opera), 4/8/12 mixed voices, trombone, tuba, violin, cello, 1996 (concert version of stage work)


Noaptea de cremene (cantata, text by Vasile Voiculescu), mezzo-soprano, small orchestra, 1986

Lacrimă și Rază (text by Lucian Blaga), mezzo-soprano, piano, 1988

Anastasia (text by Daniel Turcea), mezzo-soprano, flute, clarinet, cello, piano, percussion, 1992

Strigare (text from Psalm 101), 8 mixed voices, 1995

Sicut in cælo et in terra (text from the Bible), 8 mixed voices, percussion, 1999

Cântarea nopții (text by Daniel Turcea), soprano, flute, guitar, 2002


Prima, fixed media, 1996, revised 2002

The Word, fixed media, 1998