Valentina Velkovska-Trajanovska

(b. 11 October 1976, Skopje).

North Macedonian composer of mostly chamber, choral and vocal works that have been performed in Europe and elsewhere.

Ms. Velkovska-Trajanovska studied at Ss. Cyril and Methodius University in Skopje from 1995–2001 and there earned her BMus in music theory and pedagogy. She also studied composition there with Tome Mančev and Tomislav Zografski from 1997–2004, where she graduated with highest honours, and where she had postgraduate studies in orchestration with Tome Mančev from 2002–06 and earned her MMus.

Among her honours are the 50 Years of Ss. Cyril and Methodius University Prize (2000, for In Silence, Secret and Hear Me, Mother) and two prizes in the competition A Place on the Disc of Jeunesses Musicales of North Macedonia (2000, for Holy Land; 2004, for Omen). Her music has been performed in the Czech Republic, France, North Macedonia, Serbia, the UK, and the USA.

She is also active in other positions. She worked as a music editor and music journalist for North Macedonian Television from 1996–2003 and as a music journalist for North Macedonian Radio from 1998–2003. She is a member of the board of presidents of the composers society SOCOM in Skopje and a member of the assembly of the copyright society ZAMP in Skopje.

She has taught solfège as an assistant to Snežana Dimčevska and orchestration as an assistant to Tome Mančev at Ss. Cyril and Methodius University since 2003. She has taught analysis, composition, form, harmony, orchestration, polyphony, and 20th-century music literature as a professor at the Goce Delčev University of Štip since 2007.


E-mail address:



Rondo, small orchestra (16 players), 2000

Dawn, string orchestra, 2004

Ison, large orchestra (88 players), 2004


Two Pieces, viola, 1998

Trio, English horn, violin, cello, 1999

Reflection, bassoon, harp, 2000

Scenes, flute, oboe, clarinet, French horn, bassoon, 2001

Composition No. 1, string quartet, 2001

Sketch, string quartet, 2005

Rainbow Dance, flute, oboe, bassoon, B-flat trumpet, 2 violins, viola, cello, piano, percussion, 2005

The Transfiguration, string quartet, 2006

Star Trail, flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, 2007

Toward the Cliff, clarinet, violin, cello, piano, vibraphone, 2008

Celestial Bodies, oboe, piano, 2010

Mirrors, violin, cello, piano, 2010

Step in Front of the Darkness, flute, clarinet, violin, viola, cello, piano, 2012


In Silence (text by Aco Šopov), mixed chorus, 1997

Secret (text by Blaže Koneski), mixed chorus, 1998

Hear Me, Mother (text from a folksong from North Macedonia), mixed chorus, 1998

Bride (text by Konstantin Slučevski), mixed chorus, 1998

Kondak (texts from ancient liturgy in Macedonian), mixed chorus, 1998

Rivers (text by Blaže Koneski), mixed chorus, 1998

Tropar (texts from ancient liturgy in Macedonian), mixed chorus, 1999

Orpheus of Infinity (text by Jovan Strezovski), mixed chorus, 2012


Trembling (text by Aco Šopov), soprano, piano, 1999

Divided (text by Blaže Koneski), bass, piano, 1999

Autumn Morning (text by Blaže Koneski), bass, viola, piano, 1999

Holy Land (texts by Jordan Danailovski, T. S. Eliot [Macedonian translation]), bass, string orchestra, 2000

Clairvoyants (text by Ante Popovski), soprano, violin, piano, 2003

Omen (vocalise), soprano, clarinet, violin, cello, percussion, 2003

Dandelion (text by Jovan Strezovski), soprano, piano, 2006


Five Pieces, 1997

Dreams, 1997

Sun, 2014