Andrea Vigani

(b. 13 March 1970, Milan).

Italian composer of mostly orchestral and chamber works that have been performed in Europe and elsewhere.

Mr. Vigani studied violin with Silvano Minella at the Conservatorio Giuseppe Verdi in Milan and graduated in 1992 and where he then studied composition and electroacoustic music with Gianni Possio, Giuseppe Giuliano and Riccardo Sinigaglia. He also studied chamber music with Milan Škampa at the Scuola di Musica di Fiesole and composition with Franco Donatoni and string quartet with Piero Farulli at the Accademia Musicale Chigiana in Siena, all from 1989–91.

Among his honours are the Premio della giuria in the competition Città di Pavia (1990), First Prize in the memorial competition Edvard Grieg in Oslo (1995), the Premio della giuria in the competition Castello di Belveglio (1996), the Premio Città di Udine (1998), and Primo Premio in the competition for young composers Pomeriggi musicali (2000). His music has been performed in Belgium, Brazil, France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, and the UK.





Special Guest: Federico and Giulietta (ballet, choreography by Lindsay Kemp), 1996


Frame for a Rose, small orchestra (13 players), fixed media, 1992

Frame II, orchestra, fixed media, 1993

Fondamenta Nuove, cello, 12 strings, 1997

Preludio a suoni rituali, violin, piano, percussion, string quartet, string orchestra, 1998

Traduzioni Temporali, 1999


Flowers for Algernon, clarinet, 1990

Graffiti IIV, string quartet, 1995

L'Insipienza a cantare la notte, flute, piano, 1996

Interludi Teatrali, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, 1996

Intensi frammenti di parlato idiomatico, bass clarinet, 1996 (also version for tenor saxophone, 1997)

Primitiva sonora, 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, 2 French horns, 1997

Cinque Post-Scripta, bass clarinet (+ bass drum with pedal), 2 metronomes, 1999

Passaggi Veneziani, flute (+ piccolo, alto flute), clarinet (+ bass clarinet), viola, piano, percussion, live electronics, 1999

Porcellane, oboe, violin, viola, cello, 1999

Buona giornata anche a voiMorning, clarinet (+ E-flat clarinet, bass clarinet), trumpet, violin, viola, cello, piano, synthesizer, percussion, 2000

Buona giornata anche a voiEvening, flute (+ piccolo, alto flute), clarinet (+ E-flat clarinet, bass clarinet), guitar, violin, viola, cello, piano, percussion, 2000

Tutte le ombre parlano del sole, sottovoce, piccolo (+ alto flute), oboe, bass clarinet (+ clarinet), trumpet, trombone, violin, viola, cello, piano, percussion, 2000

Studio su I giocattoli di Parpignol, flutes (1 player), saxophones (1 player), guitar, piano, 2001

Muser d'hiver, viola, 2001 (also version for viola, live electronics, 2002)

focalise (première étude), flute, clarinet, harp, 2 violins, viola, cello, piano, harpsichord, percussion, 2002

evidence room, string quartet, 2002


Muta d'accento... e di pensier, female voice, clarinet, bassoon, trumpet, trombone, harp, electric guitar, violin, double bass, MIDI-keyboard, percussion, 2000

Shakespeare, che cos'è? – Fragmente, female voice, violin, button accordion, 2000

ahh, l'amour, female voice, piccolo, bass clarinet, violin, cello, piano, 2002


Tre Prospettive, 1995


le vetrate di Aligi, speaker, clarinet, harp, violin, fixed media, film, 2002


Graffiti IIV. Interensemble String Quartet (Taukay)