Konstantsin Yaskov (Kanstantsin Yaskou)

(b. 29 December 1981, Vietka, Gomel Region).

Belarusian composer of mostly chamber and piano works that have been performed in Europe.

Mr. Yaskov studied composition with Viktor Voytik and conducting with Nikolay Kolyadko at the Belarusian State Academy of Music in Minsk from 2001–06, where he graduated with a diploma and where he then had postgraduate studies in composition with Viktor Voytik from 2006–08. In addition, he studied composition with Aleksander Lasoń at the Karol Szymanowski Academy of Music in Katowice in 2008, on a grant from the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage in Poland.

His music has been performed in Belarus, Poland and Ukraine.

He is also active in other positions. He co-founded with Natalia Ganul and Elena Zdobnikova the biannual festival DIALOGUES: Young Composers and Performers in Minsk in 2007, which he has co-organised with them since 2007. In addition, he co-founded with Maksim Kruhly and Katyaryna Shymanivich the Association of Young Belarusian Composers in Minsk in 2010 and has served as its president since 2010.

He has taught analysis and theory of contemporary music at the Belarusian State Academy of Music since 2008 and the transcription of recordings of folk music from Belarus at the Belarusian State University of Culture and Arts in Minsk since 2008.

In addition to the works listed below, he has composed music for films and stage productions.


E-mail address: or



The Prophet (after Mikhas Bashlakou), viola, 18 strings, 2005

Adagio, orchestra (8 winds, 10 brass, harp, timpani, percussion, strings), 2007

Dreams of the Castle Hill, tsymbaly (hammered dulcimer from Eastern Europe), orchestra, 2011

Anthem to Aphrodite, accordion, string orchestra, 2013


The Castle of Stephen Báthory: Three short pieces, flute, cello, 2000 the sea..., piccolo, 2 flutes, alto flute, 2007

Hukanne wyasnyInviting Spring, cello, 2008

Vitrage, string quartet, 2008

One, Two, Three... (pulse music in C after the waltzes of Johann Strauss II), flute, clarinet, violin, cello, piano, 2009

Ludus mobilis I: diatonic metaepitaphy in memory of conceptualism, piano, any 3 moving players with any instrument in C (with 6 desks), 2009

Ludus mobilis II: dance of Yin and Yang about the Deepest Emptiness, violin, 2010 (also version for 2 violins, 2010)

Ludus mobilis IV: Recitativo & Aria, clarinet, piano, 2011

Ludus mobilis V: Toccata and Fuga, any number of players, piano, 2011


Lux æterna (text from the Requiem), mixed chorus, 2 French horns, 2 trumpets, 3 trombones, tuba, violin, piano, 2 percussion, 2006

za odgłosem horyzontuecho beyond the horizon (3 folksongs from Belarus), mixed chorus, small orchestra, 2013


Credo (text from the Mass), 2 sopranos, baritone, organ, string quartet, 2007

Alleluia, baritone, organ, 2012

VocaliseEpitaph in memory of H. M. Górecki, soprano, piano, string quartet, 2012


Variations on a Theme of Franz Joseph Haydn, 2002

SonataPoem, 2004

Zone Opus-posth, or... (Eight multi-informational audio-graphic models from the experience of culture), 2009

Passion, piano, live electronics, 2012

Quasi-Dance for Alexey Shmurak, 2013

Moonlight Sonata of Philip Glass, 2014


Ludus mobilis III: Sanctus Benedictus, 2010


Rondo, flute/oboe, piano, 2006