Sergey Beltiukov

(b. 1956, Minsk).

Belarusian composer of mostly orchestral, choral and piano works that have been performed throughout Europe and in the Americas.

Mr. Beltiukov studied piano with Grigory Sharshevsky at the Belarusian State Academy of Music in Minsk, where he graduated in 1980 and where he then studied composition with Yevgeny Glebov and graduated in 1987. He had postgraduate studies in composition with Yevgeny Glebov there from 1987–89.

Among his honours are two awards in the competition for Students and Postgraduate Students in the USSR (First Prize, 1985, for Toccata No. 1; First Prize, 1987, for The Night Butterfly) and a Silver Medal from the USSR (1988, for The Night Butterfly). In addition, his music represented Belarus at the UNESCO International Rostrum of Composers (2000). His music has been performed at the ISCM World Music Days in Oslo (1990), the Kulturtage der Stadt Bonn (1994), the Bath Festival (1995), the M. K. Čiurlionis Summer Festival in Druskininkai, Lithuania (1999), the festival Warszawska Jesień – Warsaw Autumn (2000), and New Paths in Music in New York, New York (2010). In addition, his music features regularly at the festival Minsk Spring.

Mr. Beltiukov is also active in other positions. He co-founded with Galina Gorelova (Halina Harelava), Vyacheslav Kuznetsov, Dmitry Lybin, Yevgeny Poplavsky (Yauhen Paplauski), and other composers the Belarusian Society for Contemporary Music in Minsk in 1990. He has served as editor-in-chief of music and entertainment programmes for the National State Television and Radio Company since 1995.

In addition to the works listed below, Mr. Beltiukov has written much music for films and theatre productions.


E-mail address:



Rogneda (ballet), 1988


Symphonic Variation, 1985

King Lear (symphonic picture), 1986

Concerto grosso, small orchestra, 1987

Concerto, oboe, small orchestra, 1989

Sad Offering to Mozart, flute, piano, small orchestra, 1990

Strontium-90, small orchestra (17 players), 1990

Symphony No. 1, 'Engravings', 1991

Symphony No. 2, 1994

Capriccio (concerto), flute, orchestra, 1995

Credo, small orchestra, 1995

Symphony No. 3, 'Gethsemane', 1997

Concerto, flute, violin, cello, piano, orchestra, 1999

Concerto, piano, orchestra, 1999

Symphony No. 4, 2000

Symphony No. 5, 2000


Music for Oboe and Tape, oboe, fixed media, 1989, revised 1995

Sonata, cello, piano, 2003

The Butterflies, 2 flutes, 2003


The Travelers (cantata, texts by Yanka Kupala, Maksim Tank), mixed chorus, 1992

The Edge Watched over by God (cantata, texts by Yakub Kolas, Yanka Kupala), mixed chorus, 1993

Vespers, mixed chorus, 1996

Bright Light (oratorio, text by Sergey Ivanov), soprano, speaker, mixed chorus, small orchestra, 1998


The Night Butterfly (cantata, text by Arseny Tarkovsky), tenor, small orchestra, 1987

Nenia (requiem), 2 sopranos, small orchestra, 1997


Toccata No. 1, 1983

Sonata, 1984

Toccata No. 2, 1985


Game of Sounds, computer, 1995