Giacomo Platini

(b. 13 February 1967, Gattinara).

Italian composer of mostly chamber works that have been performed in the Americas, Asia and Europe.

Mr. Platini initially studied piano with Remo Remoli at the Conservatorio Giuseppe Verdi in Turin, where he graduated in 1989, and piano with Marian Mika at the Accademia Internazionale di Musica in Novara, where he graduated in 1994. He then studied composition with Ivan Fedele at the Conservatorio Giuseppe Verdi in Como, where he graduated in 1997, and at the Conservatoire à rayonnement régional de Strasbourg, where he graduated in 2000.

Among his honours are a scholarship from the Associazione Giosuè Carducci in Como (1996) and the Premio Lucus in the competition Carlo Gesualdo da Venosa in Potenza (1997, for Inachis).

He is also active in other positions. He co-founded with Jacopo Baboni Schilingi and other composers the group PRISMA (Pedagogia e Ricerca sui Sistemi Musicali Assistiti) in 2001, which works on computer-aided composition and musical research at the Centro Tempo Reale in Florence. In addition, he contributed articles to the yearbook PRISMA-01 (2003, Euresis Edizioni and Centro Tempo Reale).

He lectured at the Istituto Musicale Pareggiato della Valle d'Aosta in Aosta from 1996–2000 and later taught at the École Nationale de Musique du Pays de Montbéliard.





Macchinario bestiale (spectacle, text by Guido Quarzo), female voice, 2003

Cinque Storie per una voce quieta (spectacle, text by Roberto Piumini), female voice, 2003


Variazioni, 1995–96

Hommage à Alban Berg, 1997

Il Cuore del Drago, 2010

... how between ..., trombone, string orchestra, 2010


Quartettsatz, string quartet, 1994

Inachis, clarinet, viola, piano, 1997 (also version for clarinet, cello, piano, 1999)

Maelström, flute, clarinet, violin, cello, piano, 1999

On Ka, amplified piano, percussion, 1999–2000

Assoluto, cello, 2000

Yll 1, violin, piano, 2004

Yll 2, violin, piano, computer, 2004

Yll 3, clarinet, violin, piano, 2005

Flussi, string quartet, 2005

Cristal bleu, harp, computer, 2006

Fantasiestücke, French horn, 2 cellos, 2 pianos, 2009

L G projectstep one, flute, clarinet, violin, cello, piano, computer, 2009

the strangeness Of sunlight, violin, cello, piano, 2011

I x I (one times one), violin, cello, 2012


Twi-is Light (text by e. e. cummings), mixed chorus, 4 French horns, 2012


Unisonus (text by Matteo Maria Boiardo), mezzo-soprano, violin, piano, 1998

Silence. notturno a tre voci (text by e. e. cummings), soprano, flute, cello, 2002

Cantilena, soprano, piano, percussion, computer, 2006


Dual, 2 pianos, 1998

Variations parallèles, piano 4 hands, 2007

Vertigo étude I, piano, computer, 2008

Exhaling a red soul into the dark, 2011


Due Variazioni sull'Aria del 'Ruggiero' e sulla 'Romanesca' da Girolamo Frescobaldi, 1998


f.ut, fixed media, film ad libitum, 2001